Hi there

I’ve been meaning to start this blog project for over a week, but the still-packed boxes in the living room, my work schedule, and my child have had other plans. For now, I’m ignoring the couple remaining boxes, have hit a slow spot in the work day, and my child is currently being entertained by her “skellies.”┬áDancing lifesavers, those skellies.

A little less than a month ago, we closed on our first home, which has been surreal and terrifying. As we settle in here, though, the house has taken hold and made me want to do strange things. Garden, for example, although I’ve killed every house plant I’ve ever owned, and my mom literally couldn’t pay me to weed her flowerbeds growing up. Decorate, but I’ve always been into that. Learn about tools. Unclog drains. Winterize the spa. The last two items are on the agenda for today, so this should be interesting.

Life starts to seem tantalizing-the backyard for Feisty, the gas oven and range for me, the endless DIY learning opportunities for The Flyer, who has been watching This Old House since 1989. I picture every detail of every room during the (many hours of) time it takes Feisty to fall asleep, plan out what I will start from seed, what needs fixing, how to do it.

It’s all kinds of exciting, and I hope to keep chronicling it here.

Leave a Reply

